Men's NPL Night Series fixtures released

UPDATED: The Men’s NPL Night Series begins later this month with holders Inglewood United kicking off with a home clash against Armadale.

The pre-season competition will see the 12 teams split into two groups of six. The sides will play each other once, with the winners of each group facing the runners-up from the opposite group in the semi-finals on Sunday 6 March.

The final takes place on Saturday 12 March at a venue to be decided.


Joining Inglewood and Armadale in Group A are league champions Perth SC, Balcatta, Sorrento and Cockburn City, three of whom have changed their coaches during the close season.  

Marc Wingell has stepped up from assistant to replace Ramon Falzon as head coach at Perth, while Sorrento and Cockburn have turned to former coaches in Trevor Morgan and Mirko Jelicic, respectively. Balcatta have Michael Johnson in charge - he was confirmed as permanent head coach just days before the final league game of last season after seven matches as interim.

In Group B, State Cup winners Floreat Athena start against promoted Stirling Macedonia, whose ambitions are clear with the recruitment of 2021 Gold Medal winner Calvin Whitney and 2019 Golden Boot winner Michael Domfeh from Perth SC.

Another side with a new head coach are Gwelup Croatia, who have appointed Mitch Prentice. Gwelup get under way against Perth Glory, with ECU Joondalup taking on Bayswater City.

Round One fixtures

Group A

Friday 28 January

Perth SC v Balcatta (Dorrien Gardens 6.30pm)

Saturday 29 January

Sorrento v Cockburn City (Inglewood Stadium 5pm)

Inglewood United v Armadale (Inglewood Stadium 7pm)

Group B

Friday 28 January

ECU Joondalup v Bayswater City (Dorrien Gardens 8.30pm)

Perth Glory v Gwelup Croatia (E&D Litis Stadium 6.30pm)

Floreat Athena v Stirling Macedonia (E&D Litis Stadium 8.30pm)

Filed Under: National Premier League