Gold Fields State Team beat Glory 1-0

The Gold Fields WA State Team ensured Perth Glory's first outing as they build towards the start of the 2021/22 A-League Men's season ended in a 1-0 defeat at Percy Doyle Reserve on Saturday.


Perth SC midfielder Kristian Santich scored the only goal, seven from the end.

WA State Team beat Glory
Kristian Santich, second right, scores the only goal. Photo by Football West/FotoEnzo

Glory, who announced the signing of England international Daniel Sturridge on Friday, had a strong starting XI, with the likes of Andy Keogh, Brandon O’Neill, Jonathan Aspropotamitis, Pacifique Niyongabire and Daniel Stynes all in the line-up. 

WA State Team beat Glory
Johnny Perkins saves Gio Colli's penalty. Photo by Football West/FotoEnzo

And they should have taken the lead after substitute Joshua Anasmo was felled in the box 15 minutes from time. However, Gio Colli’s penalty was well saved by Johnny Perkins and the ECU Joondalup keeper then did well to keep out Ciaran Bramwell’s follow-up.

State team beat Glory
The Gold Fields WA State Team celebrate their 1-0 win over Perth Glory. by Football West/FotoEnzo

Instead it was the WA State side who found the breakthrough on 83 minutes when a loose ball in the box fell to Santich and the team captain smashed the ball past Cameron Cook for the only goal.

State team beat Glory



Gold Fields WA State Squad: Ryan Montgomery (GK), Bojan Radinovic, Calvin Whitney, Cameron Teece, Kristian Santich (C), Alex Silla, Michael Domfeh, Lachlan Byrd (all Perth SC), Jordan Brown, Ollie Annis, Scott Witschge (all Sorrento Football Club), Chris Saldaris, Sean MacManus, Nick Ambrogio (all Floreat Athena), Kostantinos Sparta, Ndumbe Macache (both Bayswater City Soccer Club), Steve Sokol (Inglewood United Football Club), Jesse Lazzaro (Cockburn City Soccer Club), Johnny Perkins (GK) (ECU Joondalup Soccer Club), Jonathan Stynes (Gwelup Croatia SC). Coach: Cris Ola.

Perth Glory: Cameron Cook (GK), Brandon O’Neill, Jonathan Aspropotamitis, Jacob Muir, Bruno Fornaroli, Andrew Keogh, Luke Bodnar, Jack Clisby, Joseph Forde, Lewis Tucker, Jack Andrews, Christopher Donnell, William Formston, Joshua Rawlins, Joshua Anasmo, Daniel Stynes, Aidan Coyne, Giordano Colli, Darryl Lachman, Sam Reilly (GK), Adam Zimarino, Pacifique Niyongabire, Ciaran Bramwell. Coach: Richard Garcia.


- Football West would like to acknowledge our partner Gold Fields, which is the name sponsor of all of our State teams.

Filed Under: Men's State League